Alabamians elected to serve on Southern Baptist Convention boards, committees

On June 11, at the Southern Baptist Convention (SBC) annual meeting in Birmingham, seven Alabamians were elected to serve on SBC boards and committees including the SBC Executive Committee, GuideStone Financial Resources, International Mission Board, North American Mission Board, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary and Gateway Seminary.

The nominees — selected by the 2019 SBC Committee on Nominations — were announced in mid-April.

Alabamians elected to serve are:

• Executive Committee — Paul S. Hicks, pastor of Good Shepherd Community Church, Hayden, nominated for a second term

• GuideStone Financial Resources — J. Rodney Bledsoe, member of First Baptist Church, Montgomery, and chief development officer at The Baptist Foundation of Alabama, term expiring in 2023

• International Mission Board — James H. (Jim) Cooley, pastor of First Baptist Church, Birmingham; and Charlotte B. Madison, member of Mount Zion Baptist Church, Huntsville, terms expiring in 2023

• North American Mission Board — Erin S. Bounds, member of North Valley Baptist Church, Odenville, nominated for a second term

• Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary — Harry Edward (Ed) Litton Jr., pastor of Redemption Church, Saraland, term expiring in 2022

• Gateway Seminary — Daniel Atkins, pastor of Taylor Road Baptist Church, Montgomery, term expiring in 2024. (TAB)